AEMO announces Drew Clarke as new Chair of its Board | RenewEconomy

AEMO announces Drew Clarke as new Chair of its Board

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mr Clarke will replace Dr Anthony (Tony) Marxsen, who is retiring from the Board following the 2017 Annual General Meeting in November.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


The Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Andrew (Drew) Clarke as the new Chairman of the Board, commencing 2 November 2017.

AEMO is a company incorporated under the Corporations Act with a skills based Board of ten directors who are independently selected and endorsed by AEMO’s members. AEMO’s membership is comprised of 60% government members and 40% industry members.

Mr Clarke’s appointment follows an extensive national search with an independent Appointment Selection Panel. The Selection Panel recommended the appointment of Mr Clarke, which was endorsed by the AEMO Board, AEMO’s members, and subsequently approved by the COAG Energy Council.

Mr Clarke will replace Dr Anthony (Tony) Marxsen, who is retiring from the Board following the 2017 Annual General Meeting in November.

“The Board of Directors sought a Chair who could supply the requisite industry knowledge and leadership acumen to support AEMO’s strategic development during this time of unprecedented industry change,” said Dr Marxsen.

“Together with AEMO Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Audrey Zibelman, Mr Clarke’s understanding and demonstrated leadership exceptionally positions AEMO to identify and pursue the changes required to help secure Australia’s future for a reliable, secure and efficient energy system.

Mr Clarke’s appointment was unanimously supported by the Board and AEMO’s members,” said Dr Marxsen.

Mr Clarke has been a leader in energy policy in Australia since 2003. From 2003 to 2013, Mr Clarke served in progressively more senior roles under both Coalition and Labor Governments, including terms as Deputy Secretary and Secretary of the Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism.

During this period, Mr Clarke led the Commonwealth’s actions in the creation of the National Energy Market Rules and the three market bodies, served as the Chair of the Senior Committee of Officials (Commonwealth, State, Territory) under the COAG Ministerial Council on Energy, and led national and international energy policy development for Australia, including key leadership on climate change and resource development policies.

He also helped establish the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) and the Global Carbon Capture and Storage Institute, and was Australia’s member on the Governing Board of the International Energy Agency.

In addition to his experience in energy, Mr Clarke also brings valuable experience from his previous role as Secretary of the Department of Communications where he led the Commonwealth Government’s open data policy, and was responsible for promoting an innovative and competitive communications sector.

Most recently, Mr Clarke was Chief of Staff in the Office of the Prime Minister from 2015-2017, and is now a member of the NBN Co Limited and the CSIRO Boards.

Mr Clarke was awarded Order of Australia in 2016 for distinguished service to public administration, and is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

“I am delighted with Drew’s appointment. As Chair of the AEMO Board, Tony set an extremely high bar for industry leadership and expertise. Given Drew’s vast background and deep understanding of the energy sector, I am extremely confident he will be able to support AEMO’s strategic development and future success.

On behalf of AEMO’s management and staff, we welcome Drew to the Board,” said Ms Zibelman.

“AEMO is at the forefront of industry wide change, and I look forward to working with my fellow Board members and the Executive Leadership Team to identify and implement solutions to enable safe, secure, reliable and affordable energy supply to Australians,” said Mr Clarke.

In addition to the appointment of Mr Drew Clarke, Dr Peter Davis was also reappointed for a further term of four years as a director on the AEMO Board.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

  1. Guy Stewart 2 years ago

    His recent CV has me a bit nervous.

    Carbon capture and storage is now widely accepted as a greenwashing farce to direct billions in climate funds to coal industry companies who have no intention or technology to reduce greenhouse emissions from their industry.

    It looks like he presided over the gutting of the CSIRO climate research Dept.

    And as for the NBN, it’s failings, cost overruns and political piñata status are now main stream news. Customer complaints are up 160% year on year.

    I hope that he is actually good at his job and committed to the industry and just had to weather to the storm of nearly a decade of bad policy passed down to him. But I do worry those political ties will carry over to this new position, where he should be independent and operating for the best outcomes for the National grid. Seems like he is not afraid to carry water for the party of the day.

    • juxx0r 2 years ago

      I read through his CV and thought he’d be excellent at driving the second carriage on a train.

Comments are closed.

Get up to 3 quotes from pre-vetted solar (and battery) installers.