Embargoed until 12:01am, 31 July 2018

31 July 2018

The Hon. Guy Barnett MP The Hon. Lily D'Ambrosio The Hon. Don Harwin MLC The Hon. Daniel van Holst Pellekaan MP The Hon. Dr Anthony Lynham MP Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA

23 Energy Researchers from 11 Institutions Call for Full Release of National Energy Guarantee Modelling

We, the undersigned, representing many decades of combined experience with energy markets and energy policy, are concerned that the carbon accounting and the reliability mechanisms of the NEG are poorly understood and have not received adequate review by Australia's community of energy researchers.

The proposed National Energy Guarantee is the most significant change to the National Electricity Market since the implementation of the National Electricity Laws in 1996.

While there is much discussion in the public sphere about the adequacy of the emissions targets, we recognise that matter is not within the domain of the CoAG Energy Council. This letter is concerned solely with the modelling of the twin mechanisms intended to address the trilemma of reduced emissions, high reliability and low energy costs.

The Energy Security Board's Final Decision Paper refers to an ACIL Allen study which purports to validate the NEG design. The paper provides insufficient detail on the assumptions, methodology and results of the study and indeed it is difficult to reconcile the claims with our own understanding of energy market dynamics and the Australian Energy Market Operator's Integrated System Plan.

We call on the Ministers to request the ESB to release the ACIL Allen modelling in full, including all assumptions that have a bearing on the modelling of price effects, and to provide access to the modelling team, so that we may have the opportunity to peer review the work.

Sincerely,

Dr Martin Belusko Senior Research Fellow Barbara Hardy Institute, University of South Australia

Dr Stephen Berry Research Fellow, Barbara Hardy Institute, University of South Australia

Prof. John Boland Professor of Environmental Mathematics, University of South Australia

Dr Anna Bruce Senior Lecturer, School of PV and Renewable Energy Engineering Research Coordinator (Engineering), Centre for Energy and Environmental Markets University of New South Wales Dr Roger Dargaville Senior Lecturer, Renewable Energy, Monash University

Dr Mark Diesendorf Honorary A/Professor, University of New South Wales

Emeritus Prof. John Foster School of Economics, The University of Queensland

Dr Evan Franklin Senior Lecturer, University of Tasmania

Simon Holmes à Court Senior Advisor, Climate and Energy College, Melbourne University

Prof. Frank Jotzo Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University

Dr Scott Kelly Research Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures, UTS

Dr Ariel Liebman Senior Lecturer, Energy Informatics, Monash University

Salim Mazouz Research Manager, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU

Iain MacGill Associate Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Communications Joint Director (Engineering), Centre for Energy and Environmental Markets University of New South Wales

Dylan McConnell Researcher, Climate and Energy College, Melbourne University

Dr Franziska Mey Senior Research Consultant at the Institute of Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney

A/Prof. Bruce Mountain Director, Victorian Energy Policy Centre, Victoria University

Alan Pears AM Senior Industry Fellow, RMIT

A/Prof Peter Pudney Associate Research Professor of Industrial and Applied Mathematics, University of South Australia

Prof. John Quiggin School of Economics, The University of Queensland

Prof. Chris Riedy Professor of Sustainability Governance, Institute for Sustainable Futures, University of Technology Sydney

Dr Hugh Saddler Honorary A/Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU

Dr Liam Wagner Lecturer in Economics, Griffith Business School, Griffith University